Tags

, , , , ,

ImageSince mid March many of us who follow a lot of blogs have been searching for a new reader. I lamented the fact that I had finally organised my Google Reader and began the search for the replacement, needed by next week, July 1st.

Over the past few months I have researched, experimented and asked for advice on a variety of different platforms. There are a lot of great options out there, and I feel that a lot of blog readers have really stepped up their game to try and win those at a loss with no more Google Reader.

The winner for me was Feedly, although a lot of people don’t like the ‘bells and whistles’ that Feedly brings, I actually don’t think it is that bad:

  • It has a simple web layout (with an add on for Chrome),
  • Feedly were quick to jump on the fact that many people would be searching for a new reader and over the months have made the transfer quick and painless – they have now implemented the use of the cloud and with one click you can migrate everything
  • Their Android app is great, easy to use and was also easy to move to the cloud (and I enjoy the colour…something to brighten up my waiting at the train station ;) )
  • They continue to update their program to ensure those who have migrated from Google Reader are satisfied: http://techland.time.com/2013/06/19/feedly-adds-new-features-ahead-of-looming-google-reader-shutdown/
  • They seem to be quite open with everything they are doing, and seem to ask the community for feedback, particularly when they make large changes, or have received a variety of similar complaints (I say seem, because you never really know what’s going on behind the scenes, but for now they seem to be fairly transparent)

These are just a few of my initial thoughts on my use of Feedly. Over all, despite the fact that there was a huge uproar in March when Google announced the end of their reader, I feel that the transition has been easy, and I am satisfied with my decision to go with Feedly. If you are still lost in a world soon to be without Google Reader, this article provides a pretty good summary of some of the options that are out there: http://www.theverge.com/2013/3/19/4119006/the-best-google-reader-alternatives

Have you found a Google Reader replacement? What did you decide to go with?

